RaceCafe..#1...Tipsters Thread.... Share Your Fancies For Fun...Lets See Who The Best Tipsters Here Are.
Hangfire

I was AMAZING! The WORLD was my oyster! Thank goodness the Racing Board swallowed it and renewed my contract

https://minterellison.co.nz/our-view/an-interview-with-john-allen-ceo-of-new-zealand-racing-board

An interview with John Allen: CEO of New Zealand Racing Board

DATE

19 December 2016

Lessons of Leadership

Lessons of Leadership

MEttle donned its silks and headed down to the racetrack to interview New Zealand Racing Board CEO John Allen, one of New Zealand’s most inspirational and colourful business leaders.

True to form, John was not afraid to speak his mind and did not shy away from the fences on the MEttle track. To give him free rein, he speaks now on these pages in his own words.

I am a lawyer who became a postman and then a diplomat, and I’m now a sort of jockey or driver depending on which code you want to look at it through. Obviously that’s an unconventional pathway. A key driver was people asking me to do things and me being willing to say ‘yes’, even if it was a step into entirely new industries and roles for which I had no formal qualifications – this is a testament to the strength of the skills developed in the law.

Legal skills can take you anywhere because they teach you to objectively assess and analyse information and to make judgements on the basis of that information. Essentially, that is what you do in any leadership role.

In addition, the law teaches you advocacy skills, which are essential. It also puts you in a very clear team environment, which is an indispensable building block of effective leadership in larger organisations.

"You’ve got to get over wanting to be liked by everyone"

Leading through advocacy and adaptability